Nursing Professional Development

The mission of Nursing Professional Development Center is to design and implement high quality programs of professional development in which nurses engage to acquire and maintain competence, enhance professional nursing practice, and support the achievement of personal career goals. 

The Nursing Professional Development Center  offers the following to all health care professionals working at Children’s of Alabama:

  • American Heart Association Basic Life Support (BLS) and Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) courses
  • Nursing Service Orientation
  • Transition to Practice (TIP)- newly hired/new graduate nurses
  • Education support / consults
  • Pediatric continuing education programs
  • Audiovisual equipment inclusive of mannequins
  • Coordination of clinicals for schools of nursing
  • Online resources, including Ovid and EBSCO

Children’s of Alabama is an Alabama Board of Nursing Provider for continuing nursing education.


Department location:
Children’s Harbor Building, fourth floor, Suite 410


Contact Information

Nursing Professional Development
1600 6th Aveune South
Birmingham, Alabama 35233
Telephone: 205-638-9127
Fax: 205-638-6066
Email: nursing.education@childrensal.org
Hours of operation: Weekdays, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Department Director
Marjorie McCaskey, DNP, RN, CPHQ
marjorie.mccaskey@childrensal.org
Phone: 205-638-7738

Administrative Support
Tera Stallworth, Division Secretary
tera.stallworth@childrensal.org
Phone: 205-638-9127

Barbara Wilhite, Secretary
barbara.wilhite@childrensal.org
Phone: 205-638-6246

Educators
Elsie Anwah, MSN, RN, CRNP-AC (BLS, PALS Coordinator)
elsie.anwah@childrensal.org
Phone: 205-638-9407

Alyssa Cooper, MSN, RN, CPN (Nursing orientation, TIP program)
alyssa.cooper@childrensal.org
Phone: 205-638 6113

Debra Stewart, MSN, RN (CA orientation, Schools of Nursing)
debra.stewart@childrensal.org
Phone: 205-638-9909

Nursing Policy and Procedure Coordinator
Ann Bentley, BSN, RN, CPN
ann.bentley@childrensal.org
Phone: 205-638-6941

Simulation Center Staff
Carrie Norwood, BSN, RN, CPN
carrie.norwood@childrensal.org
Phone: 205-638-6407

Kandi Wise, BSN, RN
kandi.wise@childrensal.org
Phone: 205-638-6151

Lynn Zinkan, BSN, MPH, RN, CPEN
lynn.zinkan@childrensal.org
Phone: 205-638-7306