State Resources

Following is a list of agencies and individuals who may be contacted for information on child passenger safety (CPS) training opportunities in each State and U.S. Territory. These contacts can also provide general information on CPS programs and activities in their respective States and Territories. Select a State to go directly to the contact for that State.

This information is based on state child passenger safety training contact information compiled by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Additional information is based on feedback and reports of changes and corrections to the list as reported to the National Child Passenger Safety Board.

Alabama Guam North Carolina
Alaska Hawaii North Dakota
American Samoa Idaho Northern Mariana Island
Arizona Illinois Ohio
Arkansas Indian Nations Oklahoma
California Indiana Oregon
Colorado Iowa Pennsylvania
Connecticut Kansas Puerto Rico
Delaware Kentucky Rhode Island
District of Columbia Louisiana South Carolina
Florida Maine South Dakota
Georgia Maryland Tennessee
Guam Massachusetts Texas
Hawaii Michigan Utah
Idaho Minnesota Vermont
Illinois Mississippi Virgin Islands
Indian Nations Missouri Virginia
Indiana Montana Washington
Iowa Nebraska West Virginia
Kansas Nevada Wisconsin
Kentucky New Hampshire Wyoming
Louisiana New Jersey  
Maine New Mexico  
Maryland New York
Alabama
William D. King
The University of Alabama at Birmingham
Department of Pediatrics
1st floor Children's Hospital
1600 Seventh Avenue South
Birmingham, AL 35294
Phone: 205-638-9720
Fax: 205-638-9245
Bill.king@chys.org

Alaska
Ms. Peggy Hayashi
State Coordinator
Alaska Safe Kids
Providence Alaska Medical Center
3200 Providence Drive
PO Box 196604
Anchorage, AK 99515-6604
Phone: 907-261-3194
Fax: 907-261-3647
mhayashi@mtaonline.net

American Samoa
Lt. Terry Letuli
Office of Traffic Safety
Government of American Samoa
PO Box 1086
Pago Pago, AS 96799
Phone: 9-1010-288-011-684-633-1111 Ext 48
Fax: 9-1010-288-011-684-633-7296

Arizona
Ms. Linda Mendy
Grant Coordinator
Governor's Office of Highway Safety
3030 N. Central, Suite 1550
Phoenix, AZ 85012
Phone: 602-255-3216
Fax: 602-255-1265
patandre@primenet.com

Arkansas
Steve Roundtree
Arkansas State Police
Highway Safety Program
One State Police Plaza Drive
Little Rock, AR 72209
Phone: 501-618-8486
Fax: 501-618-8124
Steve.roundtree@asp.state.ar.us

California
Ms. Karen Coyle
Office of Traffic Safety
7000 Franklin Boulevard
Suite 440
Sacramento CA, 95823
Phone: 916-262-1753
Fax: 916-262-2960

List of States  

Colorado
Sgt. Rob Marone
Colorado State Patrol
700 Kipling St., Suite 1100
Denver, CO 80215
Phone: 303-239-4537
Fax: 303-239-4566
rob.marone@cdps.state.co.us

Connecticut
Mr. Stephen Livingston
Department of Transportation
Highway Safety Program
2800 Berlin Turnpike
P.O. Box 317546
Newington, CT 06131-7546
Phone: 860-594-2364
Fax: 860-594-2374
Stephen.Livingston@po.state.ct.us

Delaware
Ms. Jana Simpler
Occupant Protection Coordinator
Office of Highway Safety
PO Box 1321
Dover, DE 19903-1321
Phone: 302-744-2742
Fax: 302-739-5995
jsimpler@state.de.us
District of Columbia
Ms. Karen Gay
Passenger Safety Liaison
Department of Public Works
Frank D. Reeves Center
2000 14th Street, NW., 6th Floor
Washington, DC 20009
Phone: 202-939-8115
Fax: 202-939-7185
karen.gay@dc.gov
Florida
Ms. Lorie Ray
CPS Coordinator
FL Department of Transportation
605 Suwannee Street
MS 17
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0450
Phone: 850-410-4934
Fax: 850-922-2935
lorie.ray@dot.state.fl.us

Georgia
Ms. Sylvia Willis
Governor's Office of Highway Safety
One Park Tower
34 Peachtree Street, Suite 1600
Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone: 404-656-6996
Fax: 404-651-9107
swillis@gohs.state.ga.us

List of States  

Guam
Ms. Teresita Cristi
Guam Office of Highway Safety
Department of Public Works
542 North Marine Drive
Tamuning, GU 96911
Phone: 671-647-5059 / 646-3229
Fax: 671-646-9733
tessiecristi@yahoo.com

Hawaii
LeeTakata
Safe Community Programs
Department of Transportation
869 Punchbowl Street
Room 114
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: 808-587-6301
Fax: 808-587-6303
Lee_takata@exec.state.hi.us

Idaho
Ms. Josephine O'Connor
Child Passenger Safety Grants Officer
Idaho Transportation Department
Office of Highway Safety
PO Box 7129
3311 West State Street
Boise, ID 83707-1129
Phone: 208-334-8130
Fax: 208-334-3858
mailto:jo%27conno@itd.state.id.us

Illinois
Ms. Janice Gower
Division of Traffic Safety
Illinois Department of Transportation
3215 Executive Park Drive
PO Box 19245
Springfield, IL 62794-9245
Phone: 217-785-1783
Fax: 217-782-9159
gowerjm@nt.dot.state.il.us

Indian Nations
Pat Jacobs
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Indian Highway Safety Program
201 Third St., NW, Suite 310
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone: 505-245-2104
Fax: 505-245-2106

Indiana
Mr. Jeff Matthews
Governor's Council on Impaired and Dangerous Driving
Automotive Safety Program
Indiana University
575 West Drive, Room 004
Indianapolis, IN 46202
Phone: 317-274-3595
Fax: 317-278-0399
Jmatthews@iupui.edu

List of States  
Iowa
Ms. Lisa Lutz
Injury Prevention Coordinator
Iowa Department of Public Health
Bureau of EMS
401 SW 7th Street
Suite D
Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone: 515-725-0324
Fax: 515-725-0318
llutz@idph.state.ia.us

Kansas
Mr. Jeff Halloran
DCCCA-KDOT
Safety Belt Education Office
3312 Clinton Parkway
Lawrence, KS 66047
Phone: 785-841-3048 / 800-416-2522
Fax: 785-841-3642
ksebeo@alltel.net

Kentucky
Ms. Sharon Rengers
CPS Coordinator
Governor's Highway Safety Program
403 Wapping Street
Suite 103
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: 502-564-6700
Fax: 502-564-6779
sharon.rengers2@nortonhealthcare.org

Louisiana
Nicole Bartley
Louisiana Highway Safety Commission
PO Box 66336
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
Phone: 225-925-3859
Fax: 225-922-0517
Nicole_Bartley@dps.state.la.US

Maine
Mr. Carl Hallman
Bureau of Highway Safety
164 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0164
Phone: 207-624-8760
Carl.J.Hallman@Maine.gov

Maryland
Ms. Meg Miller
Occupant Protection Coordinator
State Highway Administration
Office of Traffic Safety
7991 Connelley Drive
Hanover, MD 21076
Toll Free: 888-963-0307 x 4077 (In-State)
Phone: 410-787-4077
Fax: 410-787-5823
List of States  
Massachusetts
Ms. Jenny Barron
Child Passenger Safety Coordinator
Governor's Highway Safety Bureau
10 Park Plaza
Suite 5220
Boston, MA 02116-5220
Phone: 617-973-8912
Fax: 617-973-8917
Jenny.Barron@hsb.state.ma.us

Michigan
Ms. Angela Glew
Child Passenger Safety Consultant
Injury Prevention Section
Michigan Department of Community Health
3423 North Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd.
PO Box 30195
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: 517-335-9420
Fax: 517-335-8893
glewa@michigan.gov

Minnesota
Ms. Patti Klicka
State Program Coordinator
Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Office of Traffic Safety
444 Cedar Street
Suite 150
St. Paul, MN 55101-5150
Toll Free: 800-818-9296
Phone: 651-215-9093
Fax: 651-297-4844
patti.klica@state.mn.us

Mississippi
Ms. Corie Jones
DPS, Office of Highway Safety
Division of Public Safety Planning
3750 I-55 N.Frontage Road
Jackson, MS 39211
Phone: 601-987-3788
Fax: 601-987-41543
cjones@mdps.state.ms.us

Missouri
Ms. Pam Hoelscher
Division of Highway Safety
P.O. Box 104808
Jefferson City, MO 65110-4808
Phone: 800-800-2358
Fax: 573-634-5977
phoelscher@mdhs.state.mo.us

Montana
Ms. Priscilla Sinclair
Transportation Safety Bureau
Department of Transportation
2701 Prospect Avenue
Helena, MT 59620-1001
Phone: 406-444-7417
Fax: 406-444-0807
psinclair@state.mt.us
List of States  
Nebraska
Ms. Cathy Chochan
Traffic Safety Specialist
Nebraska Office of Highway Safety
PO Box 94612
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: 402-471-2017
Fax: 402-471-3865
Chochon@mail.state.ne.us

Nevada
Ms. Traci Filippi
Office of Traffic Safety
Department of Public Safety
555 Wright Way
Carson City, NV 89711
Phone: 775-684-7476
Fax: 775-684-7482
tfilippi@dps.state.nv.us

New Hampshire
Ms. Elaine Frank
Injury Prevention Center at Dartmouth
1 Medical Center Dr.
Lebanon, NH 03756
Phone: 877-783-0432 / 603-653-1135
Fax: 603-650-1604
Elaine.frank@dartmouth.edu

New Jersey
Mr. Edward O'Connor
Department of Law & Public Safety
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
PO Box 048
Trenton, NJ 08625-0048
Phone: 609-633-9300
Fax: 609-633-9020
mailto:Edward.O%27Connor@lps.state.nj.us

New Mexico
Mr. Melvin Martinez
State Highway & Transportation Department
PO Box 1149
Sante Fe, NM 87504-1149
Toll Free: 800-541-7952
Phone: 505-827-0429
Fax: 505-827-0431
Melvin.martinez@nmshtd.state.nm.us
New York
Ms. Deborah Lotito
Governor's Traffic Safety Committee
6 Empire State Plaza
Room 414
Albany, NY 12228
Phone: 518-473-7708
Fax: 518-473-6946
dloti@dmv.state.ny.us
List of States  
North Carolina
Mr. Bill Hall
UNC Highway Safety Research Center
730 Airport Rd. Suite 300
CB# 3430
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: 919-962-8721 / 800-672-4527 (in NC)
Fax: 919-962-8710
bill_hall@unc.edu
North Dakota
Ms. Carol Holzer
North Dakota Department of Health
600 E Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505-0200
Phone: 701-328-4537
Fax: 701-328-1412
cholzer@state.nd.us

Northern Mariana Island
Mr. Leo T. Duenas
Office of Special Services
P.O. Box 500791
Civic Center Supupe Village
P.O. Box 791
Saipan, MP 96950
Phone: 670-664-9121
Fax: 670-664-9141
Lduenas@dps.gov.mp

Ohio
Ms. Anita Watkins
Ohio Department of Public Safety
Office of the Governor's Highway Safety Representative
PO Box 182081
Columbus, OH 43218-2981
Phone: 614-466-3250
Fax: 614-728-8330
awatkins@dps.state.oh.us
Oklahoma
Ms. Carol Williams
Program Manager
Highway Safety Office
3223 N. Lincoln
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Phone: 405-523-1572
Fax: 405-523-1586
cwilliams@dps.state.ok.us

Oregon
Ms. Ruth Harshfield
Director
Child Safety Seat Resource Center
ACTS Oregon
405 W. Arlington
Gladstone, OR 97027
Toll Free: 800-772-1315 (in Oregon)
Phone: 503-656-7207
Fax: 503-656-7329
safety@actsoregon.org

List of States  
Pennsylvania
Ms. Angela Osterhuber
Project Coordinator
Pennsylvania Traffic Injury Prevention Project
PA Chapter AAP
919 Conestoga Road
Building 2, #307
Rosemont, PA 19010-1353
Phone: 610-520-9123
Fax: 610-520-9177
paaap@voicenet.com
Puerto Rico
Ms. Vivian Pedraza
Coordinator
Traffic Safety Commission
Minillas Station
PO Box 41289
Santurce, PR 00940
Phone: 787-723-3590
Fax: 787-727-0486
Rhode Island
Mr. David Schiapo
Program Coordinator
Governor's Office on Highway Safety
543 Harris Avenue
Providence, RI 2909
Phone: 401-222-1143
Fax: 401-333-3942
dschiapo@dot.state.ri.us
South Carolina
Ms. Ginger Patterson
Occupant Protection Program Coordinator
South Carolina Department of Public Safety
Office of Highway Safety
PO Box 1993C
Blythewood, SC 29016
Toll Free: 877-349-7187
Phone: 803-896-9968
Fax: 803-896-9978
virginiapatterson@scdps.net
South Dakota
Ms. Marianne Gabriel
Department of Public Safety
Office of Highway Safety
118 West Capitol
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 605-773-4949
Fax: 605-773-6893
Marianne.Gabriel@state.sd.us

Tennessee
Ms. Betsy Preston
Executive Director
TN Child Passenger Safety Center
ETSU / UT at Kingsport
1501 University Boulevard
Kingsport, TN 37660
Toll Free: 877-538-2475
Phone: 423-392-8036
Fax: 423-392-8027
betsypreston@aol.com

List of States  

Texas
Texas Department of Transportation
125 East 11th Street
Austin, TX 78701-2483
Phone: 512-416-3169

Mr. Johnny Humphreys
Children's Traffic Safety Team Leader
Texas Department of Transportation
Safe Riders Program
1100 W. 49th Street
Austin, TX 78756
Toll Free: 800-252-8255
Phone: 512-458-7403
Fax: 512-458-7666
johnny.humphreys@tdh.state.tx.us

Utah
Ms. Kristy K. Rigby
Department of Public Safety
Utah Highway Safety Office
5263 South Commerce Drive
Suite 202
Salt Lake City, UT 84107
Phone: 801-293-2480
Fax: 801-293-2498
krigby@utah.gov
Vermont
Ms. J. Michelle Laberge
Department of Public Safety
Governor's Highway Safety Program
103 South Main Street
Waterbury, VT 05701-2101
Phone: 802-244-1317
Fax: 802-241-5153
Virgin Islands
Ms. Linda Peters
Office of Highway Safety
Lagoon Street Complex, F'sted
St. Croix, VI 840
Phone: 340-772-3025
Fax: 340-772-2626
Virginia
Ms. Marcia Franchok-Hill
Statewide Safety Seat Program Manager
Center for Injury and Violence Prevention
Virginia Department of Health
109 Governor Street, 8th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
Toll Free: 800-732-8333 (In-State)
Phone: 804-864-7737
Fax: 804-864-7748
Marcia.Franchok-Hill@vdh.virginia.gov

Washington
Ms. Kathy Kruger
Executive Director
Safety Restraint Coalition
917 Kirkland Ave.
Kirkland, WA 98072
Toll Free in WA: 800-BUCK-L-UP (282-5587)
Phone: 425-828-8975
Fax: 425-828-9083
office@bucklup.org

List of States  
West Virginia
Ms. Melissa Taylor
WV Child Passenger Safety Coordinator
Charleston Police Department
PO Box 2749
Charleston, WV 25330
Toll Free: 800-382-2358
Phone: 304-348-1091
Fax: 304-348-6471
CPDTrainer@aol,com
Wisconsin
Mr. Don Hagen
Department of Transportation
Bureau of Transportation Safety
4802 Sheboyghan Avenue, Suite 809
PO Box 7936
Madison, WI 53707
Phone: 608-267-7520
Fax: 608-267-0441
don.hagen@dot.state.wi.us
Wyoming
Ms. Anna Thompson
Wyoming Department of Transportation
5300 Bishop Blvd.
Cheyenne, WY 82009-3340
Toll Free: 800-994-4769
Phone: 307 777-4199
Fax: 307-777-4250
Anna.Thompson@dot.state.wy.us